Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

ADS for life

HomeSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Warrior Tank Guid

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
Cypher
Admin
Cypher

Warrior Tank Guid Empty
PostSubject: Warrior Tank Guid   Warrior Tank Guid Icon_minitimeThu Feb 07, 2008 3:40 am

Warrior tank guid

The first thing we must talk about is the multiple functions of a tank, and this guide will review only the ones of the Warrior class, considering that I have little experience with the Paladin class, and even less with the Feral or Druid class.

A tank is what a player becomes when he finds himself holding threat (or aggro) of a certain Mob or Monster, and taking it's damage, preventing the other players of the party or raid from taking direct damage. That would be my definition anyway, and it can often change depending of the fight. There are two "known" jobs in which a tank can perform:

Main Tanking:
Basically, the "Tank" job, you will be directly responsible for the security of your group, through mitigation, positioning, and making sure to hold enough threat so that other players in your raid can do as much damage as they can without getting aggro. Truth must be said, sometimes this position is quite wanted by some people in order to gain a kind of "fame" or "respect". If you intend to do this job, leave that aside, and concentrate on doing your job the best that you can for your group.